I got canned for NOT being a skank

But the other assistant was a skank and she got to keep her job

LuxuryCardStore
6 min readSep 11, 2021

Life in the fast lane in one of the the “bigger” cities

Photo by Dainis Graveris on Unsplash

Continuing with my roller coaster ride of Wall Street but what I refer to as “Philly style”. I worked for various big name firms. I was goal oriented and took my jobs seriously because the only way to move up was to show you had what it takes and have skin as thick as crocodile skin. I enjoyed almost every minute of it, except the part when I realized that most of the FAs (Financial Advisors) were whiny, self-absorbed, entitled sociopaths. Don’t get me wrong there are some good people out there who also happen to be FAs but in my experience that was few and far in between.

Money and greed are like a lightning rod to both the best and the worse folks in society.

At one job at a small boutique financial advising firm, I was hired to do one job, but after I took it, I found out that my boss expected me to do 3 jobs. To be fair one of them only required what amounted to a part time position but the other two were full time positions. What’s worse is he was often very inappropriate towards me but then would flip a switch to being nasty and rude because I wouldn’t agree to the type of “personal” interaction he was seeking.

--

--